Bali set for 18 additional
religious holidays in 2012

Bali Governor Made Mangku Pastika has decided to add 18 local holidays this year to allow resident Hindus to perform religious rituals, in addition to the already 13 national holidays and five official joint leave days.

“The special local holidays are intended to allow Hindus to perform their various religious activities,” spokesman for the provincial government, I Ketut Teneng, said Thursday in Denpasar, antaranews.com reported.

The local holidays will fall on Jan. 22, 23, 31, Feb. 1, 2, 10, 11,12, March 22, 24, June 16, 20, Aug. 28, 29, 30 and Sept. 16, 17 and 18.

The five official joint leave days are: May 18 (Ascension of Jesus Christ); Aug. 21 and 22 (Idul Fitri); Nov. 16 (Islamic New Year); and Dec. 24 (Christmas).

Post Your Say

Selected comments will be published in the Readers’ Forum page of our print newspaper.