SBY bestows honors to late
Cabinet members

The late former Health Minister Endang Rahayu Sedyaningsih and the late former Energy and Mineral Resources Deputy Minister Widjajano Partowidagdo were among 15 figures to have medals of honor bestowed on them by President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono in a ceremony at the Merdeka Palace on Monday.

Endang was awarded the Bintang Mahaputra Adipradana while Widjajono received the Bintang Mahaputra Utama.

The Bintang Mahaputra consists of four levels of Adipurna, Adipradana, Utama and Pratama and is the second highest state honor awarded to civilians after the Bintang Republik Indonesia. This year, only three figures received Mahaputra Adipradana, none at the first-level Adipurna medal.

Alongside Widjajono, West Nusa Tenggara Governor Zainul Majdi was also bestowed the Bintang Mahaputra Utama.

Chess Grandmaster Utut Adianto, meanwhile, was among nine figures awarded the Bintang Jasa, an honor given to figures with extraordinary services in a specific non-military sector.

Retired army general turned Yudhoyono’s Democratic Party politician TB Silalahi received the Bintang Budaya Parama Dharma. This honor is bestowed to figures with extraordinary services in the culture sector.

Medal of honor recipients:

Bintang Jasa Utama:

1.       Lambock V Nahattands (State Secretariat secretary)

2.       Diah Anggraeni (Home Ministrys secretary-general)

3.       R. Sukhyar (former Geology Agency head at the Energy and Mineral Resources Ministry)

Bintang Jasa Pratama:

1.       Endang Sri Heruwati (Chief researcher at the Marine Product Processing and Biotechnology Research Center, the Maritime Affairs and Fisheries Ministry)

2.       Ismael Thomas (West Kutai regent, 2006-2011 and 2011-2016)

Bintang Jasa Nararya:

1.       Rinaldi Firmansyah (president director of state telco PT Telekomunikasi Indonesia)

2.       Lely Sampoerno (former marksman)

3.       Imron Rosadi (former weightlifter)

4.       Utut Adianto (chess grandmaster)

5.       Welhelem Gommies (boxing coach)

Bintang Budaya Parama Dharma:

1.       Lt. Gen. (ret) TB Silalahi

2.       Raden Ngabehi Yosodipuro I (a great man of letters from the Surakarta Kingdom, 1729-1802)

Post Your Say

Selected comments will be published in the Readers’ Forum page of our print newspaper.