Jakarta Post

Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post
The Jakarta Post
Video Weather icon 26°C
DKI Jakarta, Indonesia
26°C Light Rain

Rain until tomorrow morning, starting again tomorrow afternoon.

  • Thu

    26℃ - 31℃

  • Fri

    26℃ - 32℃

  • Sat

    27℃ - 32℃

  • Sun

    26℃ - 30℃

Incumbent candidate rejects official vote count in Takalar

  • Andi Hajramurni
    Andi Hajramurni

    The Jakarta Post

Takalar, South Sulawesi | Fri, February 17, 2017 | 09:02 pm
Incumbent candidate rejects official vote count in Takalar Staying firm: Takalar regent candidate Burhanuddin Baharuddin (left) and his running mate, Natsir Ibrahim (second left) parade with their convoy to celebrate their "victory" on Feb. 15. (Antara/Abriawan Abhe)

Witnesses for incumbent candidate pair Burhanuddin Baharuddin-Muhammad Natsir Ibrahim, who suffered a defeat in the regency election in Takalar, South Sulawesi, refused on Friday to sign the official report on the vote count conducted by district polling committees (PPKs) in their respective areas.

They stated that the result was different with the count conducted by the pair’s own team, which showed Burhanuddin-Natsir winning the election.

The result released by the General Elections Commission’s (KPU) vote counting information system (Situng) showed Burhanuddin-Natsir receiving 49.42 percent of the vote while their rival, Syamsari- Achmad Daeng Se're, secured 50.58 percent. The count was declared complete as all data from polling stations had been received.

KPU South Sulawesi head Iqbal Latief said although the witnesses representing Burhanuddin-Natsir refused to sign the minutes, the result remained valid.

“The vote counting process conducted by the PPKs has been in line with proper procedures. The result is valid,” said Iqbal.

He said the Burhanuddin-Natsir camp could file a lawsuit with the Constitutional Court (MK) if they did not accept the outcome. The number of registered voters in Takalar was 207,712, but only 174,662 voted. (ebf)