Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

Host shuttlers stay focused to win Indonesia Masters

  • Ramadani Saputra

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta   /   Sun, January 28, 2018   /   12:58 pm
Host shuttlers stay focused to win Indonesia Masters Indonesian pair Greysia Polii (left) and Apriani Rahayu take a break in between rallies during a women's doubles badminton match against Lee So-hee and Shin Seung-chan of South Korea in the Indonesia Masters tournament in Jakarta on Saturday. The Indonesian pair won the match to advance to the finals. (PBSI/PBSI)

Indonesia secured four places in Sunday's finals of the 2018 Daihatsu Indonesia Masters, after three of its pairs and a men's singles shuttler played dominantly on Saturday.

In Saturday's semifinals, mixed doubles duo Tontowi Ahmad and Liliyana Natsir nailed the first success for the hosting country, outclassing compatriots Praveen Jordan and Melati Daeva Oktavianti 22-20 and 21-17 at the recently revamped Istora Senayan indoor stadium in Gelora Bung Karno complex, Jakarta.

The 2016 Rio Olympic gold medalists will face sixth-seeded pair Zheng Siwei and Huang Yaqiong of China in the final.
Anthony Sinisuka Ginting kept wowing the crowds at Istora, as he stunned his Taiwanese opponent Chou Tien Chen 21-16, 13-21 and 21-12 in men's singles.
Playing aggressively and staying calm during the match was the key to his success in crushing Chou, Ginting said. 

In the final, Ginting is set to play against Japan's Kazumasa Sakai, who beat Son Wan-ho of South Korea in the semis.

The 2017 French Open winners, Greysia Polii and Apriani Rahayu, are closer to winning their second Super Series title after defeating fifth seeds Lee So-hee and Shin Seung-chan of South Korea. The Indonesian pair will face Matsutomo and Ayaka Takahashi of Japan in the finals. 

Men's doubles pair Marcus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo saved the last final spot after outwitting India's Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty 21-14 and 21-11. 

Top seeds Marcus and Kevin face second seeds Li Junhui and Liu Yuchen of China in the finals.

Meanwhile, India's Saina Nehwal and Tai Tzu Ying of Taiwan will clash for the women's singles title.
The final round on Sunday will start at 12 p.m.