US expands TB control program
to Jakarta

US Embassy Chargé d'Affaires Kristen Bauer and the Jakarta administration on Monday launched the Community Empowerment of People against Tuberculosis (CEPAT) health program in Jakarta. The program supports community-based outreach and care for Tuberculosis (TB) via the US Agency for International Development (USAID).

“USAID's CEPAT program supports Indonesian organizations and local communities to combat TB and to save lives," said Bauer in a statement made available to The Jakarta Post on Tuesday.

She said the US was partnering with the Health Ministry and was committed to supporting its TB program.

“Together, we will ensure more people are diagnosed, and support TB-positive patients in completing their treatment,” Bauer said.

To increase the number of people who are tested, treated and cured for TB in Jakarta, the US supports several Indonesian organizations including Jaringan Kesehatan/Kesejahteraan Masyarakat (JKM).

The Family Welfare Movement team, or Tim Penggerak Pembinaan Kesejahteraan Keluarga (PKK) of Jakarta Special Province (DKI) hosted today’s event to demonstrate its support of the work to fight TB in Jakarta.

Indonesia remains among the top five countries globally with the highest incidence of TB. There are around 450,000 new TB cases and 65,000 TB-related deaths in Indonesia every year. Multi-drug resistant strains of TB are on the rise. Approximately 30 percent of Indonesia's estimated TB cases are not detected, and many patients are diagnosed late.

Last year, USAID recognized Indonesia's global leadership in the fight against TB in ceremonies in Washington DC and Jakarta, highlighting Indonesia's progress in achieving its Millennium Development Goals for TB.

The CEPAT program works with communities and local organizations to reach people who live in urban slums, displaced and mobile populations and people with reduced immunity due to malnourishment or HIV infection.

CEPAT works in DKI Jakarta, West Java, East Java, West Nusa Tenggara, North Sumatra, West Sumatra, Papua, and West Papua provinces.(ebf)

Post Your Say

Selected comments will be published in the Readers’ Forum page of our print newspaper.