Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post
The Jakarta Post
Video Weather icon 30°C
DKI Jakarta, Indonesia
30°C Partly Cloudy

Dry and mostly cloudy throughout the day.

  • weather-icon


    26℃ - 32℃

  • weather-icon


    25℃ - 32℃

  • weather-icon


    25℃ - 31℃

  • weather-icon


    26℃ - 30℃

Malaysian cycling team wins Tour de Lombok Mandalika 2018

  • Panca Nugraha
    Panca Nugraha

    The Jakarta Post

Mataram, West Nusa Tenggara | Sun, April 15, 2018 | 07:28 pm
Malaysian cycling team wins Tour de Lombok Mandalika 2018 Cyclists take part in a circuit race in capital city Mataram during an event to promote the 2018 Tour de Lombok Mandalika in Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara, on Sunday. The 366.8-kilometer tour will run from April 13 to 15. (JP/Panca Nugraha)

Team Sapura Cycling of Malaysia emerged as the overall winner in the three-stage 2018 Tour de Lombok Mandalika, which ended on Sunday.

Sapura Cycling clocked in at 29 hours, 18 minutes and 48 seconds to victory, followed by Indonesia KFC Cycling (29:36:39) in second place and Team Ukyo of Japan (29:40:37).

In the individual category, Alvaro Raul Duarte Sandova of Colombia, from Malaysia's Forca Amskin Team, secured the yellow jersey in the 2.2 tour event sanctioned by the Union Cycliste International (UCI). Sapura's Muhammad Zawawi of Malaysia and teammate Wilmar Zahir Perez Munoz finished in second and third, respectively.

The tour covered a total of 366 kilometers, taking routes that include tourist spots in Kuta, Sembalun and Mataram in Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara (NTB).

Eighteen teams from 24 countries took part in the event, which offered Rp 300 million (US$21,808) in prize money and UCI points, which are essential for cyclists to participate in other international races.

Besides Tour de Lombok Mandalika, Indonesia also regularly hosts UCI races, such as the Tour de Singkarak and Tour de Ijen Banyuwangi.

Join the discussions