Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

N. Sumatra to have two new provinces

  • Apriadi Gunawan

    The Jakarta Post

Medan   /   Thu, April 28 2011   /  10:00 am

All parties in the North Sumatra legislative council have agreed to the formation of the Tapanuli and Southeast Sumatra provinces after long and heated debates marred by the death of North Sumatra legislative speaker Abdul Aziz Angkat four years ago.

Tapanuli province will consist of four regencies: Humbang Hasundutan, Samosir, Toba Samosir and North Tapanuli, while Southeast Sumatra will be made up of five regencies and municipalities: Padang Sidempuan, South Tapanuli, Mandailing Natal, Padang Lawas and North Padang Lawas.

The formation of both provinces, which critics claim would further expand religious segregation, was agreed upon in the form of recommendations that will later separate them from North Sumatra, which currently consists of 33 regencies and municipalities.

North Sumatra council deputy speaker Chaidir Ritonga said Tuesday the agreement on the establi...