Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

North Kalimantan becomes 34th province

  • Margareth S. Aritonang

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta   /   Sat, October 27 2012   /  10:38 am

The House of Representatives (DPR) and the government have officially endorsed the establishment of North Kalimantan as the nation’s 34th province.

The province will have Tanjung Selor as its capital and be comprised of several regencies carved out of East Kalimantan, including Bulungan, Nunukan, Malinau and Tana Tidung, as well as Tarakan municipality.

“These areas are rich in oil, gas and mining. Thus, the new local administration can focus on efforts on enriching the people,” Home Minister Gamawan Fauzi told reporters on the sidelines of a House plenary meeting on Thursday.

North Kalimantan will border with the Malaysian states of Sabah and Serawak in its north and west, respectively; the Makassar Strait and the Sulawesi Sea in the east; and the regencies of West Kutai, East Kutai, Kutai Kertanegara and Berau in East Kalimantan to the south.