Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

Arifin Panigoro, Adaro named 2018's top taxpayers

  • News Desk

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta   /   Wed, March 13, 2019   /   04:00 pm
Arifin Panigoro, Adaro named 2018's top taxpayers Energy giant Medco Group owner Arifin Panigoro ( Rastika)

The Directorate General of Taxation has said Medco Energy founder Arifin Panigoro was the biggest individual taxpayer last year, while coal miner PT Adaro Indonesia was the top corporate taxpayer.

The tax office announced on Wednesday that taxpayers who paid taxes through the large taxpayer offices (LTO) contributed Rp 418.73 trillion (US$29.34 billion) to tax revenue last year or 31.8 percent of the total tax revenue collected.

“The awards are given to taxpayers who have abided by the taxation regulations and are responsive to taxation data requests,” said the director general of taxation, Robert Pakpakan, during the award ceremony in Jakarta on Wednesday as quoted by

Along with Arifin, the other top individual taxpayers include Pakuwon Group founder Alexander Tedja, Optik Melawai founder Budi Purnomo Hadisurjo, Adaro Group owner Garibaldi Tohir, Emtek media group owner Raden Eddy Kusnadi Sariatmadja and Triputra Group owner Rachmat Theodore Permadi.

Meanwhile, the top five corporate taxpayers are coal miner PT Adaro Indonesia, two automotive companies -- PT Astra Daihatsu Motor and PT Astra Honda Motor -- pharmaceutical company PT Bio Farma and coal miner PT Bukit Asam.

The next five corporate taxpayers are dominated by three state-owned lenders -- Bank Mandiri, Bank Negara Indonesia (BNI) and Bank Rakyat Indonesia (BRI) -- as well as private lender Bank Central Asia (BCA) and chemical manufacturer PT Chandra Asri Petrochemical.

The other significant corporate taxpayers include PT Freeport lndonesia, PT Honda Prospect Motor, PT Kaltim Prima Coal, PT Kideco Jaya Agung, Pembangunan Perumahan, PT Pelabuhan Indonesia Ill, Pertamina, Petrokimia Gresik, PLN, Perusahaan Gas Negara, PT Telekomunikasi Indonesia, PT Toyota Astra Motor, PT Unilever Indonesia and PT United Tractors. (bbn)