Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

One-price fuel policy implemented in 66 remote areas

  • News Desk

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta   /   Mon, August 20, 2018   /   01:17 pm
One-price fuel policy implemented in 66 remote areas Residents of Latu village, Seram Island, Maluku, check out the area's first gas station. (JP/Nethy Dharma Somba)

State-owned oil and gas holding company Pertamina has constructed 66 fuel stations in remote and underdeveloped areas at which it will apply the government's one-price fuel policy.

Pertamina vice president of corporate communication Adiatma Sardjito said 12 fuel stations had been established this year and 54 in 2017.

“The target is to establish 67 stations for the one-price fuel policy this year,” Adiatma said in a media release on Monday, adding that to realize the target, Pertamina faced tough challenges because of limited infrastructure in the areas.

The one-price fuel policy is a government program to provide people living in frontier, outermost and least developed regions with fuel at the same prices as in other areas.

Adiatma explained that the consumption of fuel in the 66 areas reached 0.3 percent of total national consumption, which was 56,000 kiloliters in June. Seventy percent of the consumption is subsidized Premium-branded gasoline, while the remaining 30 percent is subsidized Solar diesel fuel.

The 12 stations built this year are located in Seimenggaris, Nunukan, North Kalimantan, on March 9; Liang, Banggai Islands, Central Sulawesi, on March 9; Banggai Tengah, Banggai Laut, Central Sulawesi, on April 6; Prime district, Lanny Jaya, Papua, on April 6; West Wawonii, Konawe Islands, Southeast Sulawesi, on June 11; Tagulandang, Sitaro Islands, North Sulawesi, on June 29; Fayit district, Asmat, Papua, on July 2; Gido, Nias, North Sumatra, on July 26; Miangas, Talaud Islands, North Sulawesi, on July 30; Sula Islands, North Maluku, on July 31; Belantikan Raya, Lamandau, Central Kalimantan, on Aug. 3; and Sungai Boh district, Malinau regency, North Kalimantan, on Aug. 7. (bbn)