Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

Australian Ewart dominates first two stages of 2019 Tour de Singkarak

  • Syofiardi Bachyul Jb

    The Jakarta Post

Padang, West Sumatra   /   Mon, November 4, 2019   /   02:37 pm
Australian Ewart dominates first two stages of 2019 Tour de Singkarak Riders start the second stage of the 2019 Tour de Singkarak cycling race in Pasaman regency, West Sumatra, on Nov. 2. (2019 Tour de Singkarak/Media Relation Team)

Australian cyclist Jesse Ewart dominated the first two stages of the 2019 Tour de Singkarak, which covers 1,362 kilometers in West Sumatra and Jambi provinces, on Sunday.

Ewart, who rides for Malaysian continental team Sapura Cycling Team, led Sunday’s Stage 2, which stretched 112.2 km from Pasaman regency to Bukittinggi city, in 2 hours, 51 minutes and 13 seconds.

A day earlier, Ewart also finished the fastest in the opening stage, clocking in at 2:35:03 after riding 107.3 km from Pariaman city to Tanah Datar regency.

Marcelo Felipe of 7 Eleven QQ-Air 21 By Road Bike Philippines was best climber as of Sunday, collecting 24 points, while Ewart came in at second with 11 points.

On the leaderboard, Ewart led the pack with a total time of 5:25:53, followed by teammate Cristian Raileanu (5:27:02) and Chaiyasombat Thanakhan of Thailand Continental Cycling Team (5:29:32).

In the Indonesian category, Agung Shabana of KFC Cycling Team claimed the red-and-white jersey as the fastest cyclist in the category with a total time of 5:29:40 as of Sunday. Agung was four seconds faster than Ahmad Yoga Ilham Firdaus, the winner of the category in Stage 2.

Ninety-eight cyclists from 24 teams and 24 countries have signed up for the tournament, which will end on Nov. 10.

This year’s edition features nine stages, with the remaining seven stages’ details as follow: Stage 3 stretches 129.9 km from Lembah Harau valley (Limapuluh Kota regency) to Padang Panjang city, Stage 4 will comprise 205.3 km from Dharmasraya regency to Sawahlunto city, Stage 5 will be a 206.5 km ride from Payakumbuh city to Ambun Pagi (Agam regency), Stage 6 will run 214.1 km from Dermaga Singkarak Dock (Solok regency) to Padang Aro (South Solok regency), Stage 7 will have the shortest route at 82.9 km from Kayu Aro (Kerinci regency) to Dermaga Danau Kerinci Dock (Kerinci regency of Jambi), Stage 8 is to stretch 212.9 km from Kota Sungai Penuh (Jambi) to Painan (South Pesisir regency of West Sumatra) and the closing stage will be 107.7 km from Carocok Beach (South Pesisir regency, West Sumatra) to Padang city.