press enter to search

Tinder introduces new feature to let users date in groups

Intan Tanjung
Intan Tanjung

The Jakarta Post

Jakarta  /  Fri, July 22, 2016  /  03:38 pm
Tinder introduces new feature to let users date in groups

Dubbed Tinder Social, the feature enables users to add their Facebook friends and create a group, then find another group to match and plan a night out. (Shutterstock/-)

It seems like Tinder has came up with a new way to connect people. After taking the ordinary way of dating to a new level, the location-based dating and social discovery service app has introduced a new feature that allows users to bring a large crowd and hang out together for the night.

Dubbed Tinder Social, the feature enables users to add their Facebook friends and create a group, then find another group to match and plan a night out. Thus, instead of meeting one-on-one, groups can have their first date together with their friends and avoid awkward first-date moments. Each group can also display a status that may indicate a planned activity, such as ‘movie night’ or ‘pool party’.

Once it’s formed and given a status, a group only lasts for 48 hours. This range of time may allow each group member to contact other members privately through messaging after hanging out. The match is made when one group member swipes right, which indicates a like, on a profile in another group. Each member can also leave the group at any time and the one who created the group can also choose to close it.

(Read also: 8 things to avoid wearing on a first date)

The new feature was first tested in Australia and is being introduced in the US, the UK, Canada, New Zealand and India.

"Tinder Social is designed to make it as easy as possible to plan your night, get out into the real world and meet new people," said Tinder CEO and co-founder Sean Rad as quoted by CNET.

Many said that Tinder has revolutionized the way people date and promoted a ‘hook-up’ culture. Launched in 2012, the app lets users discover other mutually interested users in the same location. If both users swipe right for ‘like’, a chat feature will be enabled, allowing them to communicate and get to know each other. (kes)

Your premium period will expire in 0 day(s)

close x
Subscribe to get unlimited access Get 50% off now