Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

House approves seven new LPSK members

  • Nurul Fitri Ramadhani

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta   /   Thu, December 6, 2018   /   08:29 pm
House approves seven new LPSK members Stronger protection: Witness and Victim Protection Agency (LPSK) chairman Abdul Haris Semendawai leaves the Corruption Eradication Commission (KPK) building after a meeting with the antigraft body’s commissioners in Jakarta on Nov. 3. (Antara/Wahyu Putro A)

The House of Representatives has approved seven new members of the Witness and Victim Protection Agency (LPSK) who will serve for the 2018 to 2023 period.

The seven figures, elected after a two-day screening by the House’s Commission III overseeing human rights and legal affairs, are Hasto Atmojo Seroyo, Brig. Gen. Achmadi, Antonius Prijadi Soesilo Wibowo, Edwin Partogi Pasaribu, Livia Istania Iskandar, Maneger Nasution and Susilaningtyas.

Commission member Arsul Sani from the United Development Party (PPP) said on Wednesday that the Attorney General's Office (AGO) and the Law and Human Rights Ministry were not represented in the new lineup of LPSK members.

This is despite the 2016 LPSK Law stipulating that LPSK members should represent the National Police, the AGO, NGOs, academics, advocates and the ministry.

“Since the beginning, the selection team has not sent anyone representing the two institutions,” Arsul said.

Arsul said the lawmakers initially planned to approve five candidates only and hold another screening to select representatives from the AGO and the ministry. However, the plan was dropped to ensure that the LPSK runs effectively.

“After much lobbying, we finally decided to approve the seven candidates, regardless of their strengths and weaknesses,” Commission III deputy chairman and Gerindra Party lawmaker Desmond J. Mahesa said.