Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

Victims of Sibolga terror attack to receive Rp 1.7b in compensation

  • Gemma Holliani Cahya
    Gemma Holliani Cahya

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta   /   Sat, February 8, 2020   /   11:44 am
Victims of Sibolga terror attack to receive Rp 1.7b in compensation Police officers hold back onlookers following an explosion at the home of a suspected militant in Sibolga, North Sumatra, in March, 2019. (AFP/Rommy Pasaribu)

An East Jakarta court ordered the government on Wednesday to grant financial compensation to victims of a bomb attack that occurred in a residential area of Sibolga, North Sumatra, in March 2019, a victim-protection agency has announced.

The compensation totaled Rp 1.7 billion (US$124,156) for the 152 victims.  

The Witness and Victim Protection Agency (LPSK) said it appreciated the verdict.

LPSK deputy chair Susilaningtias said the compensation was awarded differently from other terror attack cases. Traditionally, compensation went towards repairing destroyed buildings, houses and electronics, she said.

In the Sibolga case, the compensation will also cover living expenses for the victims, who have lost jobs and have suffered lasting effects from severe wounds sustained in the attacks.

“Initially, it was difficult for us to list and count the victims’ financial losses. However, we eventually found a way, hence the compensation,” Susi said in a statement that was made available to The Jakarta Post on Friday.

The Sibolga attack was the first case for the agency’s newly formed compensation assessment team, she added. The agency formed the team to measure and assess financial losses for victims of crime, including terrorism.

“Especially in this case, the LPSK also received help from the Sibolga public works agency and the spatial agency,” said Susi.

The court also handed down guilty verdicts to Rinto Sugiarto, Asmar Husin, Azmil Khiar Simanjuntak, Heryanto Chaniago, Zulkarnaen Panggabean and Rosliana for their involvement in the attack. They received various sentences, from six years to life imprisonment.