Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

Indonesia finalizing 'travel corridor' with UAE

  • Ivany Atina Arbi

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta   /   Fri, July 24, 2020   /   06:23 pm
Indonesia finalizing 'travel corridor' with UAE President Joko "Jokowi" Widodo (left) chats with Abu Dhabi's Crown Prince Sheikh Mohamed Bin Zayed Al Nahyan of the United Arab Emirates during the latter's visit at Bogor Palace, West Java, on July 24, 2019. (JP/Seto Wardhana)

Indonesia is finalizing a travel corridor agreement with the United Arab Emirates to facilitate “essential business trips” including official and diplomatic visits, the Foreign Ministry has announced.

The agreement would exempt certain travelers from a two-week quarantine measure when traveling between the two countries.

“Such agreement is necessary to follow up economic agreements previously agreed upon between the two countries, including ones that came following President [Joko “Jokowi” Widodo’s] visit to the UAE in January,” Foreign Minister Retno LP Marsudi said during a press briefing on Thursday.

The UAE is currently the country’s largest Middle Eastern investor, after pledging to invest around US$6.8 billion in several projects during Jokowi’s two-day trip to Abu Dhabi in January. The investment would fund five government-to-government projects and 11 business-to-business projects in several sectors, including agriculture, education, energy and mining.

The UAE also pledged to invest in Indonesia’s new capital city in East Kalimantan.

Read also: Doubts loom over Indonesia's 'travel bubble' plan

Retno added the travel corridor policy would adhere to strict health protocols at departure and arrival.

She said Indonesia was currently discussing a similar travel policy with other countries.

Several nations have eased their COVID-19 restrictions by implementing “travel corridor” or “travel bubble” agreements with countries that have largely contained the coronavirus.

The United Kingdom, for example, no longer requires travelers from at least 59 countries and territories to enter 14-day self-isolation upon arriving in the country, reported. Among the 59 countries are New Zealand, South Korea and Vietnam.