Jakarta Post

Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post
The Jakarta Post
Video Weather icon 30°C
DKI Jakarta, Indonesia
30°C Partly Cloudy

Dry and mostly cloudy throughout the day.

  • Wed

    26℃ - 32℃

  • Thu

    25℃ - 32℃

  • Fri

    25℃ - 31℃

  • Sat

    26℃ - 30℃

Halal destinations in Indonesia to be promoted in China

  • News Desk
    News Desk

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta | Wed, January 11, 2017 | 09:35 am
Halal destinations in Indonesia to be promoted in China A serene view of Kuta Beach, part of the Mandalika tourist area, on Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara. (Shutterstock/File)

Three provinces are set to be promoted in Xinjiang, China, as recommended "halal destinations" in Indonesia.

As reported by kompas.com, the three provinces are Lombok, West Sumatra and Aceh. During the 2016 World Halal Tourism Awards, West Sumatra won the titles of World's Best Halal Destination and Best Halal Culinary Destination, while Aceh was recognized as Best Halal Cultural Destination. 

The chairman of the Association of Indonesian Tour and Travel Agencies (Asita), Asnawi Bahar, said that Asita would invite travel agencies from Xinjiang on a familiarization trip to the three provinces.

(Read also: More awareness needed to promote halal destinations)

West Sumatra will be the familiarization trip’s first stop this coming February. “We will make this first phase of bringing in agencies to inspect [the area] in order [for them] to understand the product first," he said.

The head of West Sumatra’s Tourism and Creative Agency, Oni Yulfani, mentioned that aside from Padang, Bukittinggi, Padang Panjang and Payakumbuh, there were new destinations that potential tourists should look into. “On the southern coast, there is Mandeh; we also have the Mentawai Islands regency where people can surf,” Oni said. 

Xinjiang is home to 19 million people, of which 8 million belong to the Turkic-speaking Muslim Uighur minority. The province is bordered by eight countries, including former Soviet Central Asian republics, Mongolia, Afghanistan, Pakistan and India. (mra/kes)