Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

Four narratives of ASEAN that makes it unique at 50

Jakarta   /   Thu, August 10, 2017   /  08:32 am
Four narratives of ASEAN that makes it unique at 50 Floral attraction: The Jakarta-based ASEAN Secretariat takes part in the Tomohon International Flower Festival (TIFF) 2017 in Tomohon, North Sulawesi, on Tuesday. The annual event aims to attract more tourists to the region and improve the local economy. (JP/Eva Aruperes)

Tuesday marked the completion of the golden jubilee of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), which was founded on Aug. 8, 1967. This regional grouping came into being with a membership of five countries, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. Between 1984 and 1999, five other nations, namely, Brunei, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar and Cambodia, joined it to make it an association of 10 states. It is unique in its essential character for it is different from both the European Union. Unlike EU, it is not a supranational organization. It may be recalled that following the turn of the century, ASEAN set for itself the goal of graduating to an ASEAN Community by 2015, a program that was launched with three specific pillars — politicalsecurity, economic, and socialcultural — promised a comprehensive umbrella of functions. The member governments ar...

Disclaimer: The opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not reflect the official stance of The Jakarta Post.