TheJakartaPost

Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post
A syringe is propped atop a vial of the AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine at a pharmacy in Paris, on March 12, 2021.
Dissecting the economics of vaccines
Opinion

Dissecting the economics of vaccines

Price discrimination, patent waivers or a combination of the two are all potential solutions to global vaccine inequity, but the clock is ticking.

6 days ago
Opinion

ASEAN at the heart of the EU strategy for cooperation in the Indo-Pacific

Since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, the EU has emphasized the need for multilateral solutions by providing necessary support to our partners in the Indo-Pacific region and worldwide,

1 week ago
Opinion

Transforming Bali into a clean and green island

A minimum service standard is set for urban trash collection; they must collect trash from at least 70 percent of the population. 

1 week ago

The Latest

Opinion

Dissecting the economics of vaccines

Price discrimination, patent waivers or a combination of the two are all potential solutions to global vaccine inequity, but the clock is ticking.

6 days ago
Opinion

To build cities for women, by women, with women

A similar business-as-usual sentiment exists when it comes to the participation of women in musrenbang. 

1 week ago
Opinion

The EU comes to the Indo Pacific region

Clearly the EU and its member states, the so-called Team Europe, do not have the prowess to compete militarily against China in far and remote waters at the moment.

1 week ago
Opinion

ASEAN at the heart of the EU strategy for cooperation in the Indo-Pacific

Since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, the EU has emphasized the need for multilateral solutions by providing necessary support to our partners in the Indo-Pacific region and worldwide,

1 week ago
Opinion

Transforming Bali into a clean and green island

A minimum service standard is set for urban trash collection; they must collect trash from at least 70 percent of the population. 

1 week ago
Opinion

‘Corpse flower’, nature conservation and economic recovery

Safeguarding our land and oceans does more than protect threatened biodiversity, it is also critical to rebuilding economies in a sustainable, healthy way.

1 week ago
Opinion

Media gains reversed in Myanmar coup

Journalists have been arrested on vague and unclear grounds.

1 week ago
Opinion

For a safer world, put people before runaway military spending

To end our global arms addiction, decision-makers need to take a more human-centered approach to security.

2 weeks ago
Opinion

‘Mudik’: You want me to turn back? No way!

Now we worry that greater mobility will beget an extreme upsurge in infection cases this Idul Fitri holiday unless people stay at home. 

2 weeks ago
Opinion

Higher education is leaving students anxious and unprepared for the workplace

If Indonesia’s skill shortages continue at present levels, it could lose out on up to US$442 billion and 19 percent of lost growth by 2030. 

2 weeks ago
Opinion

Thwarting future attacks by FPI splinter cells

The government needs to ensure transparent legal processes in prosecuting all acts of terrorism including those by former FPI members such as Husein’s cell. 

2 weeks ago
Opinion

Costa Rica at 200: The case of a singular democracy

This vocation for peace was confirmed in 1949 when the national army was constitutionally abolished. 

2 weeks ago
Opinion

Every fifth person: The USSR’s loss of civilian, military life during World War II

These days, the USSR gets excluded from the list of winners, and often is not even mentioned, as if the country didn't even participate in WWII at all. 

2 weeks ago
Opinion

Myanmar’s junta backed into corner?

The Tatmadaw, the powerful but shadowy military force, which has controlled the country on and off since 1962, confronts what could be a situation roughly similar to Syria a decade ago. 

2 weeks ago
Opinion

Resilient occupational safety, health systems key in pandemic

One of the many lessons learned from this crisis is the need for countries to have a sound and resilient OSH system in place.

2 weeks ago
Opinion

On eternal patrol

This tragedy adds to the long list of accidents involving the country’s aging — as well as newly bought — defense equipment

3 weeks ago
Opinion

Jokowi, ASEAN’s first chief negotiator on Myanmar

It took President Joko “Jokowi” Widodo almost seven years since he came to power in October 2014 to get directly involved in a major diplomatic endeavor as the leader of Indonesia, the largest member country and the de-facto leader of ASEAN.

3 weeks ago
Opinion

Investments for application strategy to deliver superior customer experience

There is an appetite to leverage AI capabilities to turn the data into actionable insights. 

3 weeks ago
Opinion

The pandemic, Papua, and a path forward

The national malaria program in Jakarta needs to ensure that adequate political, financial and technical resources are made available to Papua to undertake robust control and elimination activities. 

3 weeks ago
Opinion

Indonesia, key for energy transition in the region

The energy system is critical for economic growth in Indonesia, both as a source of export revenue, a significant source of employment, and a source of competitiveness.

3 weeks ago