The Jakarta Post
Instagram and Facebook may be in the process of testing out a feature that would allow users to shut off notifications from the apps for a period of time. (Shutterstock/Jirapong Manustrong)
Despite all its new features, from Instagram Lite to Instagram TV, the popular photo-sharing app is rolling out ways to deter “overgramming”.
Instagram has finished rolling out its “You’re All Caught Up” feature, which informs users once they’ve seen every post from the past two days.
“We’ve heard that it can be difficult to keep track of your seen posts. With this message, you’ll have a better understanding of your Feed and know you haven’t missed recent photos or videos,” wrote Instagram in a blog post.
As first reported by TechCrunch, both Instagram and its parent company Facebook may be in the process of also testing out “Do Not Disturb” options, which would allow users to shut off notifications from the apps for 30 minutes, one hour, two hours, eight hours, one day or until they’re turned back on manually.
Facebook and Instagram are also readying a "Usage Insights" page, where users can see just how much time they are spending on each app.
“It’s true […] We’re building tools that will help the IG community know more about the time they spend on Instagram – any time should be positive and intentional . . . Understanding how time online impacts people is important, and it’s the responsibility of all companies to be honest about this. We want to be part of the solution. I take that responsibility seriously,” tweeted Instagram CEO Kevin Systrom, confirming the Usage Insights tool. (sul/wng)
Your premium period will expire in 0 day(s)close x