press enter to search

The Game Awards 2018: ‘God of War’ leads winners

News Desk

Agence France-Presse

 /  Tue, December 11, 2018  /  11:01 pm
The Game Awards 2018: ‘God of War’ leads winners

New entry: First released over 10 years ago, God of War has gone through many iterations since but has always kept its system largely the same. (SIE Santa Monica Studio/File)

The PlayStation 4’s Greco-Nordic action adventure “God of War” received Game of the Year among its three-accolade haul at The Game Awards 2018, while PS4 and Xbox One Wild West epic “Red Dead Redemption 2” accumulated a four-trophy total.

As well as “God of War” and “Red Dead Redemption 2” which entered The Game Awards 2018 on December 6 with eight category nominations each, there were multiple wins for “Fortnite”, “Celeste” and US-based eSports team Cloud9.

“Overcooked 2”, “Florence”, “Forza Horizon 4” and “Monster Hunter World” were also named among the annual award and preview ceremony’s best games of 2018.

The event also debuted trailers and announcements for dozens of upcoming games including “Far Cry: New Dawn” “Anthem” “Mortal Kombat 11” and a new “Dragon Age” adventure.

Read also: Fortnite addiction is forcing kids into video-game rehab

  • God of War: Game of the Year, Best Game Direction, Best Action/Adventure Game
  • Red Dead Redemption 2: Best Narrative, Best Score/Music, Best Audio Design, Best Performance (Roger Clark as Arthur Morgan)
  • Fortnite: Best Ongoing Game, Best Multiplayer Game
  • Celeste: Best Independent Game, Games for Impact
  • The Messenger: Best Debut Indie Game
  • Florence: Best Mobile
  • Return of the Obra Dinn: Best Art Direction
  • Dead Cells: Best Action Game
  • Overcooked 2: Best Family Game
  • Dragon Ball FighterZ: Best Fighting Game
  • Monster Hunter World: Best Role-Playing Game
  • Forza Horizon 4: Best Sports/Racing
  • Into the Breach: Best Strategy Game
  • Astro Bot Rescue Mission: Best VR/AR Game
  • Content Creator of the Year: Ninja

Esports Awards: “Overwatch” (Best Game), Dominique “SonicFox” McLean (Best Player), Cloud 9 (Best Team – “League of Legends”, Best Coach – Bok “Reapered” Han-gyu), League of Legends World Championship (Best Event), Eefje “Sjokz” Depoortere (Best Host), Cloud9’s Comeback Win In Triple OT vs FAZE at the “Counter-Strike: Global Offensive” ELEAGUE Boston Final (Best Moment).