press enter to search

‘Perempuan Tanah Jahanam’ dominates 2020 FFI Awards with 17 nods

News Desk

The Jakarta Post

Jakarta  /  Mon, November 9, 2020  /  03:04 pm
‘Perempuan Tanah Jahanam’ dominates 2020 FFI Awards with 17 nods

Marissa Anita (left), Tara Basro (middle) and Asmara Abigail (right) appear on the teaser poster of Joko Anwar's 'Perempuan Tanah Jahanam' (Impetigore, 2019). (

The 2020 Indonesian Film Festival (FFI) announced the nominees for the Piala Citra awards on Saturday, with Joko Anwar’s spine-chilling, horror film Perempuan Tanah Jahanam (Impetigore, 2019) receiving a total of 17 nominations, one of them for Best Feature Film.

Joko Anwar is also nominated in three categories, namely Best Director, Best Original Screenwriter for Perempuan Tanah Jahanam and Best Adapted Screenwriter for the remake of horror film Ratu Ilmu Hitam (Queen of Black Magic, 2019).

Christine Hakim and Marissa Anita, who acted in Perempuan Tanah Jahanam, are competing in the Best Supporting Actress category.

Joko Anwar expressed his joy and gratitude on Twitter, adding that the film broke the record for the most FFI nominations in history.

Perempuan Tanah Jahanam had its international debut at the 2020 Sundance Film Festival’s Midnight program in the United States. The film was also released in Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Macau, Hong Kong, Laos, Cambodia and Myanmar.

Susi Susanti – Love All, a 2019 biopic of legendary Indonesian shuttler Susi Susanti, received a total of 13 nominations, including Best Feature, Best Director for Sim F, Best Actor for Dion Wiyoko and Best Actress for Laura Basuki.

Adriyanto Dewo’s road movie Mudik (Homecoming, 2020) is also vying for top prizes with nine nominations, including Best Feature Film, Best Original Screenplay for Adriyanto Dewo, Best Actor for Ibnu Jamil and Best Actress for Putri Ayudya. Produced by Lifelike Pictures, Mudik is available for online streaming on homegrown streaming service Mola TV.

The 2020 FFI awards night will take place on Dec. 5, featuring actor and stand-up comedian Ge Pamungkas as the host and a number of Indonesian actors, including Winky Wiryawan, Marthino Lio, Teuku Rifnu Wikana, Kelly Tandiono, Imelda Therinne, Putri Ayudya, Asmara Abigail, Sha Ine Febriyanti and Tissa Biani.

The FFI, formerly known as National Film Appreciation Week, was initiated in 1955.

The full list of nominees can be viewed on the FFI’s Instagram account. (wir/wng)

Your premium period will expire in 0 day(s)

close x
Subscribe to get unlimited access Get 50% off now