Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

Government advised to seriously talk about trade with US

  • Fedina S. Sundaryani

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta   /   Thu, April 20, 2017   /   12:43 pm
Government advised to seriously talk about trade with US Indonesian Chamber of Commerce and Industry chairman Rosan P. Roeslani talks to journalists. (JP/Prima Wirayani)

The Indonesian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (Kadin) has expressed the hope that United States Vice President Mike Pence’s visit to Indonesia will bring about increased trade and investment between the two countries.

Pence is expected to share the US’ plans and policies and how they will affect Indonesia and its Southeast Asian neighbors, said Kadin chairman Rosan P. Roeslani in Jakarta on Thursday.

“We want to ask how to increase our trade and vice versa. Based on our previous conversations with the US Embassy, they would like to decrease trade and instead focus on trade balancing,” he said on the sidelines of an energy seminar in South Jakarta on Thursday.

(Read also: Protectionist policies threaten global recovery: IMF)

Indonesia had a US$13 billion trade surplus with the US, which was currently being evaluated by the US administration because of an executive order issued by President Donald Trump, said Rosan, adding that, however, the US also had a surplus in the service sector of about $3 billion.

“Trade is not just the trade of goods, but of both goods and services. We want to find out how [the US] can develop the services that we need, while we also develop goods [to meet their demands],” he said.

Indonesia was in the 15th position on the list, with a $13 billion trade surplus with the US, followed by Canada with an $11 billion surplus.

China was listed in first place with a $347 billion surplus, followed by Japan, Germany, Mexico, Ireland, Vietnam, Italy, South Korea, Malaysia, India, Thailand, France, Switzerland and Taiwan. (bbn)