Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

'Tempo' chief editor, ex-education minister among new members of Press Council

  • Nurul Fitri Ramadhani

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta   /   Sat, December 1, 2018   /   03:13 pm
'Tempo' chief editor, ex-education minister among new members of Press Council Indonesian Press Council logo (

The Press Council has appointed nine new members to serve for the 2019-2022 period, consisting of journalists, representatives of press companies and public figures.

Representing journalists at the council are Tempo magazine chief editor Arif Zulkifli, former Warta Kota daily deputy chief editor Hendry Ch Bangun and MNC News Channel chief editor Jamalul Insan.

Ahmad Djauhar, a director of PT Aksara Grafika Pratama Jakarta, the publisher of the Bisnis Indonesia daily, Agung Darmajaya of the Association of Indonesian Local Television and Metro TV executive Asep Setiawan will sit at the council to represent press companies.

The public will be represented by media observer Agus Sudibyo as well as lecturer and Indonesian National Private Radio Association (PRSSNI) member Hassanein Rais and former education minister Mohammad Nuh.

Hendry and Ahmad will serve their second consecutive terms.

Press Council Election Body (BPPA) chairman Margiono said the election body had appointed the nine from a pool of 13 candidates at a plenary meeting on Thursday.

All of the new members have signed an integrity pact to underline their commitment to their duties and to help maintain the good name of the institution.

“The appointed members face tough challenges. That’s why they are required to sign the integrity pact. If they violate their commitments, there will be serious consequences,” Margiono said in a statement on Friday.

The BPPA will report the appointment results to President Joko “Jokowi” Widodo, who is expected to issue a presidential decree to confirm the appointment.