press enter to search

Garuda Indonesia Travel Fair returns late September

News Desk

The Jakarta Post

-  /  Fri, September 28, 2018  /  05:33 pm
Garuda Indonesia Travel Fair returns late September

Travel time: Visitors crowd the Jakarta Convention Center for the Garuda Indonesia Travel Fair. (Antara/Wahyu Putro A.)

The second phase of the Garuda Indonesia Travel Fair (GATF) is slated to run from late September to October. The travel fair will be held in 31 cities, with the theme Journey Around the World.

“GATF is an annual event that is always highly anticipated by Garuda Indonesia’s loyal customers, not only in Jakarta but across Indonesia,” Pikri Ilham Kurniansyah, Garuda Indonesia’s commercial director, told KompasTravel in a statement released on Thursday.

Pikri went on to say that customers’ high anticipation was evident in the increasing number of GATF visitors from year to year since its inauguration in 2009.

Similar to the previous GATF, this year’s second phase offers promotional rates on various destinations of Garuda Indonesia and programs such as Happy Hour, Best Deal and Discount Redemption. These have been proven to attract a great number of customers.

“As a response to customers’ high anticipation and the public’s interest in travel and vacations, GATF, which was initially held only in Jakarta, now is simultaneously conducted in other big cities in Indonesia,” said Pikri.

Taking a cue from the previous event, GATF Phase II is partnering with Bank Mandiri, offering additional promotions for Bank Mandiri customers who use debit or credit cards for transactions during the travel fair.

Read also: Travel fair, festival to promote South Korea as cultural, culinary destination

Garuda Indonesia expects transactions to reach Rp 448 billion (US$ 30,073,363) at the events in 31 cities. Below is the GATF Phase II schedule in major cities from September to October:

Sept. 28-30:

Denpasar (Bali), Kupang (East Nusa Tenggara) and Palembang (South Sumatra)

Oct. 5-7:

Jakarta, Medan (North Sumatra), Tanjungkarang (Lampung), Padang (West Sumatra), Jambi, Pekanbaru (Riau), Banda Aceh (Aceh), Bengkulu, Bandung (West Java), Surabaya (East Java), Malang (East Java), Yogyakarta, Surakarta (Central Java), Semarang (Central Java), Makassar (South Sulawesi), Manado (North Sulawesi), Balikpapan (East Kalimantan), Ambon (Maluku), Timika (Papua), Jayapura (Papua), Sorong (Papua), Kendari (Southeast Sulawesi), Palangkaraya (Central Kalimantan) and Banjarmasin (South Kalimantan).

Oct. 12-14:

Balikpapan (East Kalimantan)

Oct. 19-21:

Batam (Riau Islands), Merauke (Papua), Ternate (North Maluku) and Palu (Central Sulawesi).