press enter to search

[UPDATED] National parks, wildlife reserves closed amid COVID-19 outbreak

News Desk

The Jakarta Post

Jakarta  /  Thu, March 19, 2020  /  04:19 pm
[UPDATED] National parks, wildlife reserves closed amid COVID-19 outbreak

Ijen Crater Nature Tourism Park in East Java. (Shutterstock/Mazur Travel)

The Environment and Forestry Ministry has temporarily closed 57 conservation areas across the country to minimize the spread of the coronavirus.

As quoted from Antara news agency, the director general of natural resource and ecosystem conservation (KSDAE), Wiratno, said in a statement that the closure included 26 national parks, 27 nature tourism parks and three wildlife reserves.

The temporarily closed national parks are: Mount Leuser in Aceh; Bukit Duabelas, Berbak Sembilang and Kerinci Seblat in Jambi; Bukit Tigapuluh in Riau; Way Kambas in Lampung; Thousand Islands in Jakarta; Mount Halimun Salak in Banten; Mount Ciremai in Cirebon; Mount Gede Pangrango in Sukabumi; Karimunjawa, Merbabu and Mount Merapi in Central Java; Bromo Tengger Semeru and Alas Purwo in East Java; Mount Rinjani and Mount Tambora in West Nusa Tenggara; Komodo in East Nusa Tenggara; Mount Palung and Bukit Baka-Bukit Raya in West Kalimantan; Tanjung Puting and Sebangau in Central Kalimantan; Kutai in East Kalimantan; Bantimurung Bulusaraung and Taka Bonerato in South Sulawesi; Lore Lindu in Central Sulawesi; and Aketajawe Lolobata in North Maluku.

Read also: [UPDATED] Anti-COVID-19 initiatives: Helping Indonesia fight the outbreak

The temporarily closed nature tourism parks are: Grojogan Sewu, Telogo Warno/Pengilon, Sumber Semen, Mount Selok and Guci in Central Java; Ijen Crater in East Java; Bukit Kelam and Tanjung Belimbing in West Kalimantan; Bukit Tangkiling and Tanjung Keluang in Central Kalimantan; Malino and Lejja in South Sulawesi; 17 Pulau Riung, Baumata, Gugus Pulau Teluk Maumere, Menipo, Camplong, Bipolo, Teluk Kupang, Ruteng, Rusa Island, Lapang Island, Batang Island and Tuti Adagae in East Nusa Tenggara; Wera, Bancea and Tokobae Island in Central Sulawesi.

Additionally, the temporarily closed wildlife reserves are Rambut Island and Muara Angke in Jakarta as well as Pinjan Tanjung Matop in Central Sulawesi.

The Komodo National Park in East Nusa Tenggara’s West Manggarai regency is also denying entry to cruise ships. In a circular issued on Wednesday, the park management asserted that the restriction was in force until May 19. (wng)


Editor's note: The article has been updated to reflect the latest numbers.

Your premium period will expire in 0 day(s)

close x
Subscribe to get unlimited access Get 50% off now
If you want to help in the fight against COVID-19, we have compiled an up-to-date list of community initiatives designed to aid medical workers and low-income people in this article. Link: [UPDATED] Anti-COVID-19 initiatives: Helping Indonesia fight the outbreak