Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

Indonesian pair Fajar, Rian win Malaysia Masters title

  • News Desk

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta   /   Mon, January 22, 2018   /   01:22 pm
Indonesian pair Fajar, Rian win Malaysia Masters title Fajar Alfian (left) and Muhammad Rian Ardianto (PBSI/PBSI)

Indonesian badminton players Fajar Alfian and Muhammad Rian Ardianto won the Malaysia Masters men’s doubles title following a victory over their Malaysian counterparts on Sunday.

The young duo outclassed hosts Goh V. Shem and Tan Wee Kong 14-21, 24-22, 21-13 in 58 minutes during the US$350,000 tournament held at Axiata Arena in Bukit Jalil, Malaysia.

The win, the second 2018 World Tour title for Indonesia, comes off the backs of a strong showing by Tommy Sugiarto, who won the men’s singles title at the Thailand Masters last week.

Fajar and Rian, a non-seeded pair, started their journey in Malaysia by defeating Denmark’s Kasper Antonsen and Niclas Nohr 21-15, 21-19 in the first round. They stunned fourth-seeds Takeshi Kamura and Keigo Sonoda of Japan 21-17, 21-17 in the second round.

In the quarterfinals, Fajar and Rian outclassed Thailand’s Kittinupong Kedren and Dechapol Puavaranukroh 21-18, 21-13 in just 29 minutes.

The Indonesians continued their torrid pace in the semifinals, upsetting fifth seeds Mads Conrad-Petersen and Mads Pieler Kolding of Denmark before clinching the title in the finals on Sunday.

In other finals matches, world number one Viktor Axelsen of Denmark defeated Japan's Kenta Nishimoto 21-13, 21-23, 21-18 in a grueling match to win the men’s singles title.

In the women's singles, Thailand's Ratchanok Intanon edged Taiwanese top seed Tai Tzu Ying 21-16, 14-21, 24-22. Meanwhile, Danish pair Kamilla Ryt Juhl and Christinna Pederson won the women’s doubles.

In the mixed doubles, Tang Chun Man and Tse Ying Suet of Hong Kong claimed the title. (nkn)