Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

Jokowi agrees to drop 14 infrastructure projects, committee says

  • News Desk

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta   /   Wed, April 18, 2018   /   12:04 pm
Jokowi agrees to drop 14 infrastructure projects, committee says President Joko "Jokowi" Widodo. (Antara/Wahyu Putro A)

The Committee for Acceleration of Priority Infrastructure Delivery (KPPIP) says President Joko “Jokowi” Widodo has accepted its report on the evaluation of the National Strategic Projects (PSN), which recommends dropping 14 infrastructure projects worth Rp 264 trillion (US$19.18 billion).

The committee recommends maintaining 222 projects on the PSN list, from the initial number of 245. Meanwhile, the 10 other projects began operation in 2017.

In the report to the President, the committee also proposed one additional program, meaning the number of programs expected to be completed by the government in 2019 stands at three.

The estimated investment value for the projects and programs reached Rp 4.1 quadrillion.

It says the 14 projects lost their strategic status because they no longer met the criteria set by the KPPIP, such as the requirement that the projects begin construction in the third quarter of 2019.

“Based on the evaluation with operational and championing criteria, the KPPIP proposes that 14 projects be delisted from PSN status because they did not meet our requirement to begin construction in the third quarter of 2019,” the committee said in a press statement received by The Jakarta Post on Tuesday.

The committee said the result of the evaluation would give certainty to the relevant parties in executing the projects that are maintained on the PSN list.

“The recommendations are expected to give certainty to the construction of the infrastructure projects and assure that investors and users can immediately benefit from the projects,” it says.

List of the 14 projects delisted from PSN status:

1. Waru (Aloha) - Wonokromo - Tanjung Perak toll road in East Java

2. Sukabumi - Ciranjang – Padalarang toll road in West Java

3. Kertapati - Simpang - Tanjung Api-Api railway in South Sumatra

4. Muara Enim - Pulau Baai railway in South Sumatra and Bengkulu

5. Tanjung Enim - Tanjung Api-Api railway in South Sumatra

6. Jambi – Pekanbaru railway in Jambi and Riau

7. Jambi – Palembang railway in Jambi and Sumatera Selatan

8. A railway project in East Kalimantan

9. East-West Mass Rapid Transit in Jakarta

10. Sebatik Airport in North Kalimantan

11. Clean Water project in North Sumatra

12. Telaga Waja Dam in Bali

13. Pelosika Dam in Southeast Sulawesi

14. Merauke Special Economic Zone in Papua. (bbn)