Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

Asian Games: Indonesia ends up winless in Asiad’s cycling track

  • Fachrul Sidiq

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta   /   Sat, September 1, 2018   /   06:07 am
Asian Games: Indonesia ends up winless in Asiad’s cycling track Indonesia’s men’s track cycling team competes in the team pursuit event at the Jakarta International Velodrome on Monday. (INASGOC/Mohammad Ayudha)

Host nation Indonesia ended its campaign on the Asian Games' cycling track without a medal on Friday after failing to win in 14 categories. 

The short eight-month preparation had been widely blamed for the defeats, but athletes said the teams had improved over time and would be more competitive in upcoming events.

"In term of sprinting, we are at the same level as the powerhouses. We only need to formulate the best strategy and I believe there is still much room for improvement," said Projo Waseso, after competing in  the men's madison category at the Jakarta International Velodrome in Rawamangun, East Jakarta.

Projo, 31, along with his partner, 20-year-old Bernard Benyamin van Aert, finished seventh in the race with -12 points in the 40-kilometer race, following a 20-point deduction for getting overlapped. The pair, finished above Iran and United Arab Emirates, while riders from Macau, Malaysia and Thailand did not finish the race.

King Lok Cheung and Chun Wing Leung of Hong Kong, China, clinched the gold medal, while Park Sang-hoon and Kim Ok-ceol of South Korea finished second to win silver. Eiya Hashimoto an Shunsuke Imamura of Japan earned the bronze medal.

Earlier, the South Korean cycling duo of Kim You-ri and Na Ah-reum clinched the gold medal in the women's madison track cycling race, while Indonesia's Ayustina Delia Priatna and Liontin Evangelina Setiawan finished in last place in the 25-km race, collecting -14 points after receiving a 20 point deduction for losing laps.

In men's keirin, Puguh Admadi finished in 10th position, while Jai Angsuthasawit of Thailand won the gold medal.