press enter to search

Five tourist attractions closed following Merapi eruption

News Desk

The Jakarta Post

Yogyakarta  /  Fri, May 11, 2018  /  07:15 pm
Five tourist attractions closed following Merapi eruption

Mount Merapi emits white smoke on Friday. (Antara/Aloysius Jarot Nugroho)

The Mount Merapi National Park Agency (TNGM) has announced the closure of five tourist objects until further notice for security reasons because of the increased activity of Mount Merapi since Friday morning.

The five areas affected by the eruption are Tlogo Muncar and Tlogo Nirmolo, Kaliurang - Pakem; Panguk and Plunyon, Kalikuning - Cangkringan; Sapuangin - Deles, Kemalang, Klaten; Jurang Jero, Srumbung, Magelang; and the hiking trail of Mount Merapi from both Sapuangin and Selo.

Read also: 120 mountaineers rescued from Mount Merapi

The TNGM has also banned all hiking activity on Mt. Merapi since Friday at 7:50 a.m.

"All entrance gates related to tourism, including hiking trails in the park area, have been closed," TNGM head Ammy Nurwati told KompasTravel on Friday morning. (kes)

Your premium period will expire in 0 day(s)

close x
Subscribe to get unlimited access Get 50% off now