Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post
The Jakarta Post
Video Weather icon 30°C
DKI Jakarta, Indonesia
30°C Partly Cloudy

Dry and mostly cloudy throughout the day.

  • weather-icon


    26℃ - 32℃

  • weather-icon


    25℃ - 32℃

  • weather-icon


    25℃ - 31℃

  • weather-icon


    26℃ - 30℃

India applies free e-visa for Indonesians

  • Agnes Anya
    Agnes Anya

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta | Fri, June 22, 2018 | 05:14 pm
India applies free e-visa for Indonesians Closer ties: President Joko "Jokowi" Widodo (right) and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi (left) officially open a kite festival at the National Monument Square, Central Jakarta, on May 30. The event was part of a bilateral meeting between the two leaders and was to commemorate the 70th anniversary of Indonesia-India diplomatic relations. (JP/Wendra Ajistyatama)

Indonesians can now visit India easier with free-of-charge visas following an agreement by the two countries for improving people exchange and mobility.

“E-visas for India have been made free for Indonesian nationals in effect from June 18, 2018,” the Indian Embassy in Jakarta says on its website.

According to the official Indian e-visa website,, there are three subcategories in which foreigners including Indonesians — can apply: e-tourist, e-business and e-medical.

“Applicants of the eligible countries/territories may apply online a minimum of four days in advance of the date of arrival with a window of 120 days,” it says.

An e-visa is valid for 60 days with double entry for e-tourist and e-business visas, and triple entry for e-medical visas.

Visitors using e-visas can only enter India through 25 designated airports and five designated seaports: Cochin, Goa, Mangalore, Mumbai and Chennai.

“However, the foreigner can exit from any of the authorized Immigration Check Posts in India,” the announcement says.

Previously, Indonesians had to pay US$48 for the e-visa. The citizens of all other ASEAN countries must pay $80, except Singaporeans, who pay $25. Myanmar citizens also enjoy free e-visas.

During his visit to Jakarta in May, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi said his country would provide free 30-day visas to Indonesians. (ebf)

Join the discussions