Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

Cikeas coalition upbeat for Agus-Sylviana win over Ahok

  • News Desk

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta   /   Fri, September 23, 2016   /  10:45 am
Cikeas coalition upbeat for Agus-Sylviana win over Ahok Democratic Party chairman Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono delivers a speech at the party's anniversary celebration on Sept. 9, 2015. (JP/Dhoni Setiawan)

A new coalition consisting of the Democratic Party, the National Mandate Party (PAN), the United Development Party (PPP) and the National Awakening Party (PKB), who call themselves the Cikeas coalition in reference to the residence of former president and Democratic Party patron Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono (SBY), is optimistic that their camp candidates, the pair of Agus Harimurti Yudhoyono and Sylviana Murni, will prevail during the Jakarta gubernatorial election next year.

“We will do our best to oil our political engine and run it on all cylinders to come to victory,” United Development Party chairman Muhammad Romahurmuziy said as quoted by Antara news agency on Friday, referring to the support from councilors of the four-party coalition in the City Council.

According to him, the appointment of SBY’s oldest son as Jakarta governor candidate and bureaucrat Sylviana as deputy governor was decided after series of intensive meetings involving top party leaders.

“The image of Jakarta reflects the face of Indonesia. Therefore, all party chairpersons deem it worthy to have our hands on the matter in persons,” he added.

Romahurmuziy announced the appointment of the coalition’s gubernatorial candidates along with PAN chairman Zulkifli Hasan, PKB chairman Muhaimin Iskandar and Democratic Party chairman Syarief Hasan.

Agus-Sylviana are pitted in a race against incumbents Basuki “Ahok” Tjahaja Purnama and Djarot Syaiful Hidayat, who are supported by the Democratic Party of Struggle, Golkar Party, Nasdem Party and Hanura Party. Meanwhile, a coalition of Gerindra Party and the Prosperous and Justice Party have yet to appoint their candidates. (dmr)


Your premium period will expire in 0 day(s)

close x
Subscribe to get unlimited access Get 50% off now