press enter to search

Recent winners of the Nobel Literature Prize

News Desk

Agence France-Presse

Stockholm  /  Fri, October 6, 2017  /  10:56 am
Recent winners of the Nobel Literature Prize

Books of British writer Kazuo Ishiguro are on display at the Swedish Academy in Stockholm, Sweden, where Ishiguro was announced as winner of the 2017 Nobel Prize in Literature on October 5, 2017. (AFP/Jonathan Nackstrand)

Here is a list of the 15 most recent winners of the Nobel Literature Prize, including this year's award on Thursday to British author Kazuo Ishiguro.

Read also: British author Kazuo Ishiguro wins Nobel Literature Prize

2017: Kazuo Ishiguro (UK)

2016: Bob Dylan (US)

2015: Svetlana Alexievich (Belarus)

2014: Patrick Modiano (France)

2013: Alice Munro (Canada)

2012: Mo Yan (China)

2011: Tomas Transtromer (Sweden)

2010: Mario Vargas Llosa (Peru)

2009: Herta Mueller (Germany)

2008: Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clezio (France)

2007: Doris Lessing (Britain)

2006: Orhan Pamuk (Turkey)

2005: Harold Pinter (Britain)

2004: Elfriede Jelinek (Austria)

2003: J.M. Coetzee (South Africa)