press enter to search

Winners of Kusala Sastra Khatulistiwa literary awards announced

Ni Nyoman Wira
Ni Nyoman Wira

The Jakarta Post

Jakarta  /  Fri, November 4, 2016  /  06:31 pm
Winners of Kusala Sastra Khatulistiwa literary awards announced

F. Aziz Manna's "Playon" and Yusi Avianto Pareanom's "Raden Mandasia Si Pencuri Daging Sapi" are the winners of the 16th Kusala Sastra Khatulistiwa literary awards on Nov. 3. (Shutterstock/-)

Indonesian poetry Playon ('running' in Javanese) by F. Aziz Manna and prose Raden Mandasia Si Pencuri Daging Sapi (Raden Mandasia the beef thief) by Yusi Avianto Pareanom brought home the 16th Kusala Sastra Khatulistiwa literary awards on Thursday.

Other finalists in this year's Poetry category include Ibu Mendulang Anak Berlari (a mother is prospecting, a child is running) by Cynthia Hariadi, Buku tentang Ruang (a book about space) by Avianti Armand, Sergius mencari Bacchus (Sergius is searching for Bacchus) by Norman Erikson Pasaribu, and Kawitan (ancestor) by Ni Made Purnama Sari. Meanwhile, those included in the Prose category are O by Eka Kurniawan, Si Janggut Mengencingi Herucakra (Janggut is peeing on Herucakra) by A.S. Laksana, Agama Apa yang Pantas bagi Pohon-pohon? (what kind of religion is suitable for the trees?) by Eko Triono, and Genduk (a nickname for 'daughter' in Javanese) by Sundari Mardjuki.

(Read also: Frankfurt Book Fair - The rise of Indonesian literature)

The poetry anthology Playon also received recognition in yjr East Java Art Council’s poetry competition last year. Among previous works by F. Aziz Mana are Siti Surabaya and Tanggulendut. While Yusi Avianto Pareanom previously created Rumah Kopi Singa Tertawa (coffee house laughing lion) and also took part in Ekspedisi Kapal Borobudur: Jalur Kayu Manis (Borobudur ship expedition: The cinnamon route) alongside Bondan Winarno and Dhian Prasetya.

An award that recognizes Indonesia’s best prose and poetry, Kusala Sastra Khatulistiwa, formerly known as Khatulistiwa Literary Award, was founded in 2001 as a collaboration between director Richard Oh and Takeshi Ichiki. Authors who have previously won the awards include Leila Chudori, Afrizal Mana, Okky Madasari and Nirwan Dewanto. (kes)

Your premium period will expire in 0 day(s)

close x
Subscribe to get unlimited access Get 50% off now