Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

Setya names five Golkar politicians in e-ID trial

  • News Desk

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta   /   Tue, May 22, 2018   /   04:44 pm
Setya names five Golkar politicians in e-ID trial Disgraced: Graft defendants Anang Sugiana (left) and Setya Novanto talk before a hearing at the Jakarta Corruption Court on May 21. (Antara/Aprillio Akbar)

Graft defendant and former House of Representatives speaker Setya Novanto and his nephew, Irvanto Pambudi Cahyo, named five top Golkar Party politicians whom they accused of having received bribes related to the e-ID procurement project. reported that in a hearing at the Jakarta Corruption Court on Monday, Setya and Irvanto revealed that Golkar lawmaker Chairuman Harahap, the former head of House Commission II, had received funds from the project.

Irvanto, who claimed that he was assigned to hand over the money to Chairuman, said the lawmaker received US$1.5 million from businessman Made Oka Masagung, who was also named a suspect in the graft case.

Meanwhile, Setya stated that then-House speaker Ade Komarudin, also a Golkar politician, had received $700,000 for having helped smoothen the approval for the e-ID card budget.

Irvanto later mentioned that House member Agun Gunandjar Sudarsa had received SG$1.5 million from Made Oka and businessman Andi Narogong, who also had been named a graft suspect.  

Melchias Marcus Mekeng and Markus Nari were also named in the hearing. The two Golkar politicians were said to have accepted $1 million from Irvanto on the 12th floor of the House building. It was said at that time, Melchias served as chairman of the House budget committee.

In the hearing on Monday, Setya and Irvanto testified as a witness for Anang Sugiana Sudihardjo, the president director of IT consulting firm PT Quadra Solution, which was part of the consortium that won the procurement of the e-ID system.  (hol/ebf)