Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

10 regions get green light to enact PSBB as COVID-19 cases continue to rise

  • Ivany Atina Arbi
    Ivany Atina Arbi

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta   /   Wed, April 15, 2020   /   10:44 am
10 regions get green light to enact PSBB as COVID-19 cases continue to rise Police officers check vehicles entering Jakarta in Lebak Bulus, South Jakarta, on April 10. (JP/Dhoni Setiawan)

The Health Ministry announced on Tuesday that it would allow 10 regions considered COVID-19 red zones to impose large-scale social restrictions (PSBB) to widely limit people's movement during the outbreak. 

The regions include capital Jakarta, which recorded 2,335 COVID-19 cases as of Tuesday, and its neighboring Bogor regency, Bogor city, Depok city, Bekasi regency, Bekasi city, Tangerang regency, Tangerang city and South Tangerang city.

Pekanbaru in Riau is the only city outside Java to gain approval to enact PSBB so far.

Read also: COVID-19: More regions request PSBB status as Indonesia sees big jump in infections, deaths

The city is considered to be "an epicenter of COVID-19 in Sumatra, which can potentially be a source for the disease in Riau and its neighboring provinces", the Health Ministry's disease control and prevention director general, Achmad Yurianto, said.

Jakarta was the first region in the country to implement PSBB starting last Friday to slow down the COVID-19 spread, while Bogor, Depok, and Bekasi are set to enact the restrictions on Wednesday.

According to the official government count, there are 4,839 confirmed COVID-19 cases in the country, with 459 deaths.