press enter to search

Garuda Indonesia suspends some domestic, international routes

News Desk

The Jakarta Post

Jakarta  /  Sun, April 26, 2020  /  02:04 pm
Garuda Indonesia suspends some domestic, international routes

Passengers board the airplane in Ngurah Rai Airport in Denpasar, Bali in July 2016. (Shutterstock/Sony Herdiana)

Following the government's announcement on Thursday on suspending some domestic and international air travel until May 31, national flag carrier Garuda Indonesia has announced the suspension of some of its services:

Below is a list of Garuda's suspended routes.

Domestic routes suspended until May 31:

  • Jakarta
  • Surabaya in East Java
  • Bandung in West Java
  • Makassar in South Sulawesi
  • Banjarmasin in South Kalimantan
  • Padang in West Sumatra
  • Pekanbaru in Riau
  • Tarakan in North Kalimantan

Domestic routes suspended until further notice:

  • Denpasar-Timika-Denpasar
  • Jayapura-Timika-Jayapura
  • Jayapura-Biak-Jayapura
  • Jayapura-Manokwari-Jayapura
  • Jayapura-Sorong-Jayapura
  • Nabire-Biak-Nabire
  • Nabire-Timika-Nabire

International routes suspended until April 30:

  • Manado-Davao-Manado
  • Jakarta-Guangzhou-Jakarta
  • Jakarta-Shanghai-Jakarta
  • Denpasar-Beijing-Denpasar
  • Denpasar-Guangzhou-Denpasar
  • Denpasar-Zhengzhou-Denpasar
  • Denpasar-Shanghai-Denpasar
  • Denpasar-Xi'an-Denpasar
  • Jakarta-Jeddah-Jakarta
  • Jakarta-Medina-Jakarta

International routes suspended until May 20:

  • Denpasar-Singapore-Denpasar
  • Surabaya-Singapore-Surabaya

Yogyakarta, Semarang, Surakarta, Bali, Lombok and Medan routes were reportedly still operating although potentially with limited frequency.

Garuda Indonesia president director Irfan Setiaputra said in a statement on Friday that the carrier would continue to operate services in its area network outside eight regions that were implementing large-scale social restrictions (PSBB), namely Jakarta, Surabaya, Bandung, Pekanbaru, Makassar, West Sumatra, Banjarmasin and Tarakan.

"We continue to offer air travel accessibility to the public, especially those who needed to return to their hometown," he said.

He advised passengers who already booked flights to PSBB areas to either reroute, reschedule or refund their tickets.

Twenty Indonesian regions have implemented PSBB, namely Greater Jakarta; Pekanbaru; Makassar; West Java's Bandung city, Bandung regency, West Bandung regency, Cimahi city and Sumedang regency; Central Java's Tegal city; West Sumatra province; Banjarmasin city; Tarakan city; East Java's Surabaya city, Gresik regency and Sidoarjo regency; and Gowa regency in South Sulawesi. (kes)

Your premium period will expire in 0 day(s)

close x
Subscribe to get unlimited access Get 50% off now