press enter to search

Elon Musk, Brian Eno to receive Stephen Hawking Medal

News Desk

The Jakarta Post

Jakarta  /  Mon, May 20, 2019  /  09:04 am
Elon Musk, Brian Eno to receive Stephen Hawking Medal

SpaceX, Tesla and the Boring Company founder Elon Musk speaks at the 2018 SpaceX Hyperloop Pod Competition, in Hawthorne, California, on July 22, 2018. (AFP/Robyn Beck)

Tesla and SpaceX CEO Elon Musk has been selected to receive the Stephen Hawking Medal for his “astounding accomplishments in space travel and for humanity”.

The STARMUS Festival announced the 2019 winners of the Stephen Hawking Medal for science communication on May 10. Joining Musk as award-winners are Brian Eno and documentary Apollo 11 by Todd Douglas Miller.

Eno is rewarded for his contribution to the popularization of science, while the documentary is noted for presenting a breakthrough look at history’s most famous space mission.

According to Mashable, “SpaceX is known for building next-generation rockets that have launched satellites and delivered supplies to the International Space Station”.

Commenting on Eno, fellow musician Peter Gabriel said, “Brian has often created the doorway through which the avant-garde enters the mainstream. He has been the creator of ambient and now evolutionary musical forms, challenging the role, nature and perceptions of what art can and should do.”

Read also: Elon Musk, visionary Tesla and SpaceX founder

The medal ceremony will be held on June 24 at the STARMUS V Festival in Zurich. Scientist and educator Bill Nye will be the host, and attendees include Apollo 11 astronaut Michael Collins and six other Apollo mission astronauts.

STARMUS co-founder and board member Brian May, who is also a member of legendary band Queen, will present the medal to Musk.

A performance of “Once Upon a Time on the Moon” by composer Hans Zimmer will enliven the ceremony as an anniversary tribute to the Apollo missions.

Founded in 2011, STARMUS is a biennial festival bringing together scientists, astronauts, musicians and artists who share their passion for knowledge with the public.

This year’s awards come one year after Hawking's passing. Previous recipients of the medal include Zimmer, astrophysicist and author Neil deGrasse Tyson and television series The Big Bang Theory. (wng)

Your premium period will expire in 0 day(s)

close x
Subscribe to get unlimited access Get 50% off now