Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

Hendra/Ahsan secure second BWF title in Dubai

  • The Jakarta Post

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta   /   Mon, December 14, 2015   /  06:32 pm
Hendra/Ahsan secure second BWF title in Dubai

Hendra Setiawan/Mohammad Ahsan won their second Badminton World Federation (BWF) Super Series title after defeating Chai Biao/Hong Wei of China 13-21, 21-14, 21-14 in the finals in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, on Sunday.

Unlike the 2013 tournament when they crowned themselves with a 21-14, 21-16 win over Kim Gi-jung/Kim Sa-rang of South Korea, this year saw a tougher way to the top with the Indonesians suffering a loss to Lee Yong-dae/Yoo Yeon-seong 21-19, 21-10 in Group A, which also comprised Hiroyuki Endo/Kenichi Hayakawa of Japan and Fu Haifeng/Zhang Nan of China.

However, the Indonesian pair stepped up their game in the semifinals by scraping to a 21-17, 22-24, 21-15 victory over world number one Lee/Yoo.

Indonesia had two other pairs in the semifinals but Praveen Jordan/Debby Susanto and Greysia Polii/Nitya Krishinda Maheswari crashed out in the mixed doubles and women'€™s doubles events respectively.

Praveen/Jordan were beaten by Chris Adcock/Gabrielle Adcock of England 17-21, 20-22 and Greysia/Nitya went down to Christina Pedersen/Kamilia Rytter Juhl of Denmark 17-11, 21-12.

'€œWe may have been beaten but we are still grateful that we reached the semifinals. We are not satisfied because we had our chances to win,'€ Praveen said, according to a release by the Indonesian Badminton Association (PBSI) on Saturday.

It was the Indonesian pair'€™s third loss in as many matches to their opponents with the last defeat being at the Denmark Open Super Series, where they were outplayed 21-8, 21-12.

The BWF Super Series Finals is an annual tournament held at the end of the year in which the players with the most points after completing 12 events of the BWF Super Series are eligible to participate.

The tournament was to have commenced in 2007 but was canceled due to a lack of sponsorship. It began the following year, known at the time as the BWF Super Series Masters Finals 2008, in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia.

Only the top eight players or pairs in the Super series rankings are eligible to participate, with federation members being limited to only two entries.

Indonesia did not have any representatives in the men'€™s and women'€™s singles. Indonesia'€™s best men'€™s singles player Tommy Sugiarto finished the year in 11th position, while the country'€™s best player in the women'€™s singles Maria Febe Kusumastuti languished in 18th position.

Japan ended the tournament winning the most titles, emerging victorious in the men'€™s and women'€™s singles. Kento Momota overcame Viktor Axelsen of Denmark 21-15, 21-12 while Nozomi Okuhara upset Wang Yihan of China 22-20, 21-18.

The Adcock pair delivered for England with a 21-14, 21-17 win over Ko Sung-hyun/Kim Ha-na of South Korea.

China had to be content with only one title, through Luo Ying/Luo Yu in the women'€™s doubles. They defeated Pedersen/Rytter Juhl after the Danish pair abandoned the game because of injury, while they were trailing 14-21, 21-9, 14-4.

Although heading home with only one title this year, China still emerges as the winner of most titles with 15 since the tournament was first held in 2008. Denmark has won nine titles and Malaysia eight, followed by Japan (five), South Korea (two), and England and Indonesia on two apiece. Chinese Taipei and Hong Kong have each won once.