Please Update your browser

Your browser is out of date, and may not be compatible with our website. A list of the most popular web browsers can be found below.
Just click on the icons to get to the download page.

Jakarta Post

Indonesian young innovators invited to take part in Falling Walls competition

  • Bagus Saragih
    Bagus Saragih

    The Jakarta Post

Jakarta   /   Mon, August 7, 2017   /   06:52 pm
Indonesian young innovators invited to take part in Falling Walls competition The 2016 Falling Walls Lab winners pose in Berlin, Germany. (Courtesy of Falling Walls Foundation/file)

Talented Indonesian researchers and professionals have been invited to showcase their innovative ideas during the Falling Walls Lab Jakarta 2017 on Sept. 14th to win a slot for the Falling Walls Lab Finale and Conference in Berlin, Germany, in November.

International Falling Walls Labs take place all over the world and call for applications from students, young professionals, entrepreneurs and junior professors to present research projects, initiatives, ideas and business models from all disciplines.

"In total 100 applicants qualify for the Finale in Berlin. Each finalist will receive the opportunity to present their research work, initiative or business model within three minutes in front of a high-calibre jury from academia, research and business," stated a press release by Falling Walls made available to The Jakarta Post on Monday.

Read also: Young minds rock Jakarta science slam

The three winners receive a cash prize and give their talks again on the grand stage of the Falling Walls Conference.

Hosted by the University of Indonesia and supported by the Falling Walls Foundation, the Falling Walls Lab Jakarta 2017 will take place at the university's Faculty of Cultural Science. Fakultas Ilmu Budaya, Gedung 1, Auditorium 1103, Jakarta. Applications can be submitted online until Aug. 18th.

The Falling Walls Conference is an annual science event in Berlin that coincides with the anniversary of the Fall of the Berlin Wall (Nov. 9, 1989).

Further information and the online application can be found at the foundation's official website.