press enter to search

Dipha Barus bags three AMI Awards

News Desk

The Jakarta Post

Jakarta  /  Thu, September 27, 2018  /  04:05 pm
Dipha Barus bags three AMI Awards

Monica Karina (left) and Dipha Barus at 'Money Honey' single launch in Jakarta on April 4. ( Gita)

The 21st installment of the Anugerah Musik Indonesia (AMI) Awards was held on Wednesday at Ecovention in Ancol, North Jakarta. reported that Dipha Barus, known as a DJ and for a string of hit songs, won a total of three awards for Best Rap/Hip Hop Record, Best Electronic Record and Best Record. He was nominated in seven categories, including Best Record Producer and Best Collaboration Production.

Dwiki Dharmawan, head of the AMI Foundation, said that they received a total of 1,917 submissions. After a categorizing meeting, the results were circulated to all members to determine nominees. Winners were then determined by Swara members, which consisted of singers, songwriters, composers, producers and arrangers.

Read also: Musical wrap-up: Year of surprises

The 2018 AMI Awards also recognized three musicians, namely Jack Lesmana, Benyamin S and Bing Slamet with Legend Awards, while Yovie Widianto received the Lifetime Achievement Award. Yovie is known as the founder of successful pop group Kahitna, still going strong in its 32nd year, and as a songwriter with a penchant for love tunes. (wng)

Below is a list of some of the winners from the 2018 AMI Awards:

- Best Children Solo Artist: Naura  - Berani Bermmpi (Dare to Dream)

- Best Pop Songwriter: Eross Candra - “Film Favorit” (Favorite Film)

- Best Instrumental Jazz Artist: Joey Alexander – “Moment’s Notice”

- Best Jazz Album: Andien – Metamorfosa (Metamorphosis)

- Best Dangdut/Contemporary Dangdut Duo/Group/Collaboration: Shaggy Dog & Ndx Aka Familia – “Ambilkan Gelas” (Bring A Glass)

- Best Alternative Record: Noah – “Jalani Mimpi”

- Best Metal/Hardcore Record: Seringai – “Selamanya”

- Best Rap/Hip Hop Record: Dipha Barus, Ramengvrl, A. Nayaka & Matter Mia – “Decide”

- Best Record Producer: Laleilmanino – “Jangan”

- Best Design Graphic - Ardneks – Transition

- Best Newcomer - Marion Jola

- Best Electronic Record: Dipha Barus & Monica Karina – “Money Honey (Count Me In)”

- Best Pop Solo Female Artist: Yura Yunita –“Harus Bahagia” (Must Be Happy)

- Best Album: Detik Waktu: Perjalanan Karya Cipta Chandra Darusman (Sands of Time: Chandra Darusman’s Works) - Various Artists

- Best Record: Dipha Barus & Monica Karina – “Money Honey (Count Me In)”

Your premium period will expire in 0 day(s)

close x
Subscribe to get unlimited access Get 50% off now