press enter to search

UOB Indonesia announces Painting of the Year competition

News Desk

The Jakarta Post

Jakarta  /  Wed, August 19, 2020  /  10:32 am
UOB Indonesia announces Painting of the Year competition

The 2020 UOB Painting of the Year competition invites artists to share their impressions on solidarity. (Shutterstock/Syda Productions)

UOB Indonesia launched on Tuesday the 2020 UOB Painting of the Year competition.

The annual event invites artists in Indonesia to submit their entries digitally given the current circumstances.

With “solidarity” as the theme, artists are welcome to share their impressions on the importance of staying united in the face of adversity and the resilience of the human spirit in overcoming COVID-19-related challenges.

“In the current challenging situation, local artists have been finding new ways to create and to exhibit their work through the use of technology. As we continue to promote the appreciation of art among the community, we also hope to bring people together and to foster a sense of solidarity,” president director of UOB Indonesia Kevin Lam said in a statement.

The competition is now open for registration until Oct. 11. Professional as well as amateur artists are welcome to sign up.

The judges in the competition are curators Agung Hujatnikajennong and Asikin Hasan, as well as artist Ay Tjoe Christine.

Read also: Special edition ARTJOG:RESILIENCE to run from August to October

Winners of this year’s competition in Indonesia will be announced at a virtual ceremony in November, while artworks by the top-eight finalists will be exhibited virtually on UOB’s social media channels.

They will be in competition with winners from Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand for the title of UOB Southeast Asian Painting of the Year.

For more information, head to this website.

The first Painting of the Year competition was held in Singapore in 1982 and was extended to Indonesia in 2011. It is considered one of Southeast Asia’s most prestigious art awards and is now open to artists in Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand.

Past winners from Indonesia include Suvi Wahyudianto, Gatot Indrajati and Anggar Prasetyo. (wng)

Your premium period will expire in 0 day(s)

close x
Subscribe to get unlimited access Get 50% off now