press enter to search

Soekarno-Hatta's Terminal 3 named best Indonesian airport

News Desk

The Jakarta Post

Jakarta  /  Thu, November 16, 2017  /  04:42 pm
Soekarno-Hatta's Terminal 3 named best Indonesian airport

Terminal 3 of Soekarno-Hatta International Airport in August 2016. (JP/Wendra Ajistyatama)

Terminal 3 of Soekarno-Hatta International Airport has been named Best Airport 2017 at the ninth Bandara Awards initiated by Majalah Bandara.

Terminal 3, which officially opened in August 2016, beat a total of 106 airports in Indonesia.

Bandara Awards committee head Erwin Aminudin said the terminal was selected based on a passenger survey between April and August this year. “I believe it won because Terminal 3 is a new airport and it features sufficient air conditioners, complete facilities and clean toilets. It’s comfortable; that's why passengers gave it a high score,” Erwin told on Tuesday.

The award consists of three airport categories according to their management unit. Airports eligible for the awards were under state-owned airport operators PT Angakasa Pura I, PT Angkasa Pura II and Airport Management Unit.

Read also: Airport operator targets move to Terminal 3 in November

The criteria for the best airport category was based on many aspects, including flight information, security check duration, seating availability, smoking areas, internet facilities and prayer rooms.

Apart from the passenger-satisfaction survey, which questioned 16,000 passengers across 106 airports, the award evaluation also involved a panel of judges comprising Herry Bakti S. Gumay as the head, Bintang Hidayat, Tengku Burhanudin, Dudi Sudibyo, Ninok Leksono, Olivia Zalianti, Erwin Nurdin and Otong Rukmana.

The annual Bandara Awards are held to appreciate the work of airport managements in Indonesia and aim to encourage them to improve their passenger services. (wir/kes)

Below is the list of airports that made the top 10:

  1. Terminal 3 of Soekarno-Hatta International Airport, Tangerang
  2.  I Gusti Ngurah Rai International Airport, Bali
  3. Sultan Aji Muhammad Sulaiman International Airport, Balikpapan, East Kalimantan
  4.  Sultan Thaha Airport, Jambi
  5.  Supadio International Airport, Pontianak, West Kalimantan
  6.  Sultan Hasanuddin International Airport, Makassar, South Sulawesi
  7.  Juanda International Airport, Surabaya, East Java
  8. El Tari International Airport, Kupang, East Nusa Tenggara
  9. Husein Sastranegara International Airport, Bandung, West Java
  10.  Kualanamu International Airport, Medan, North Sumatra